'Five Stages of Grief by Elizabeth K├╝bler-Ross'

Seth Brown

Stage 1, Denial:   "I can't really have an umlaut in my name, can I?"

Stage 2, Anger:   "How dare my parents do this to me!?!"

Stage 3, Bargaining:   "Maybe I can reduce it to one dot."

Stage 4, Depression:   "My name will always be wrong on Scantron
sheets. Damn it."

Stage 5, Acceptance:   "Fine, I'll bear my umlaut.   I know other people
have umlauts. And hey, I bet other people have this grief thing too.
Maybe I should write about it."